Meet The Family

Featured image

Melissalyn -  That's me!

I was born and raised in New York, just outside of New York City. I still reside in my childhood home with my family.   I have a bachelors degree in Early Childhood Education and a masters degree in Early Childhood Special Education. Nevertheless, all of my knowledge and experience does not seem to make my role as a mother any easier. I still struggle with things I have done for years for everyone else’s child. Like many mothers these days, I must work. Though I gave up teaching after my son was born.  Juggling work and family is not an easy task. Finding a balance of the two and a little time for myself is a full time job in itself.  

Mama Jo - My Mom

Mama Jo grew up on Long Island, New York.  She went away to collage and became a teacher. After getting married,she stayed home and raised three children. (I'm her middle child.)  When her youngest child entered school, Mama Jo went to work with her husband (my dad)  who had started a manufacturing company. She changed professions and became a bookkeeper.  After her husband passed away, Mama Jo moved in with me.  She has helped me raise by son since he was born. The two of them spend a lot of time together and have a very special bond.  I don't know what we would do without her.                             

JJ - My Son                                                                                              Fozzie - Our Dog

I was blessed with this little guy who has brought so much love and joy to my life. Along with the joy comes the chaos and mayhem little ones can cause.  JJ is a typical little boy and is into everything.  When I am not pulling my hair out trying to stay in control as he creates a whirlwind of trouble around me, he is making me laugh and smile.  JJ's partner in crime is our dog Fozzie.  Another little boy who thinks he is king of the beasts.  These two boys together give me a run for my money.
There are a number of important people in our lives
that are no longer with us.  
They are still such a part of us and our daily lives.  
You will hear a great deal about them, 
so I figure I should introduce them as well.

Grandpa - My Dad

Grandpa was born in Oklahoma and moved around Texas and Kansas growing up.  He was a true southern boy who knew a little bit about everything. He was an avid outdoorsman who enjoyed gardening, nature and wildlife.   My love for gardening is a tribute to him.  I  don't have a green thumb like he did but gardening allows me to keep his memory alive in my heart.  Grandpa was also a historian.  He instilled in me a love for the past.  Thus the reason for this blog.  I have such amazing memories from my childhood.  We had great times together as a family doing simple things. (I don't want JJ's memories of me from growing up to be of me always on my phone or him playing on an ipad.) Grandpa was also a master in the kitchen, canning, dehydrating and cooking southern food.  I am truly his daughter as I have many interests like he did. He is the inspiration behind a lot of what I will be sharing.  

Pop Pop & Grandma Nina - Mama Jo's Parents

Pop Pop was born in Brooklyn, NY.   He was the middle child of Sicilian immigrants.  As a young child, I spent every weekend at my grandparents.  I have such fond memories of the family time we shared together. JJ was named after Pop Pop.
Grandma Nina was born in Brooklyn to Italian immigrants too.  She was Neapolitano. Grandma Nina was the fifth of ten children.  There were five girls and five boys.  Grandma Nina was a homemaker most of her life.  Though she only had two children,  she spent a lot of time with here siblings so there where tons of people around all the time.  Grandma Nina's large Italian Family is where I get most of my family values and traditions from.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Search This Blog